Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Make-Up Feature Race - 1st Place

Nebraska Raceway Park 05/17/2009

NASCAR Late Models by GM Performance Parts

Sunday night May 17, I-80 Speedway rocked the house, providing fans a with a 27 race show that included 2 double winners.

Johnny the Jet Saathoff left no doubt as to why he has won past National IMCA Modified Championships, winning both the 5-10-09 make up and 5-17-09 A Features in runaway fashion. The # 96 racer from Beatrice wasted no time in the 5-10-09 make up A, passing early leader Clint Homan (27) on lap 2 and checking out early. Mechanical problems would sideline Homan on lap 4, ending his night. Randy Foote’s # 37F was 2nd, followed by the 25 of Ricky the Racer Stephan, Reese Coffee (16), and the 8A of Dustin Andersen.

Saathoff started 10th in the 5-17-09 IMCA Modified A, using the high side of the dry but smooth as glass .4 mi oval to pass Dylan Smith’s # 95 on lap 9 and proceeded with checkout # 2 of the evening. Smith came home 2nd, Ricky Stephan 3rd, Harry Nixon in the 5n 4th , with Chad Anderson in the 8c rounding out the top 5.

The black # 99 IMCA Sport Mod driven by Jesse Sobbing of Glenwood, IA matched Saathoff’s feat, with Sobbing serving notice that he will be in the hunt or will be hunted for the remainder of the 2009 season. Sobbing was in an excellent 3 car battle for the lead in the 5-10-09 Sport Mod A, several times going 3 abreast with the 121 of Robert Tippery and Jeremy Longmeyer’s yellow 56. Sobbing would prevail, with Tippery passing Longmeyer for 2nd on the last lap. Steve Swarthout’s # 239 was 4th, with Brian Kosiski’s # 52K coming home 5th.

Because of a 33+car field, I-80 Officials exercised the new policy of Running Twin Sport Mod A Features for the 5-17-09 show.

The white 96 driven by Cory Hutchison took the win in Sport Mod A # 1. The 9N of Kyle Nordquist used the low side of the track to gain 2nd, followed by the green 25x of Joe Feyen, Larry Robinson Sr in the 53, and Jason Penke (7).

In 5-17-09 Sport Mod Second A, Sobbing in his black 99 blasted from his 7th starting spot to 2nd in 1 lap, behind first lap leader Ed McConnell. Sobbing would check out, leaving behind a great battle for position. Rick Rohr of Pickrell had a fine run ending up 2nd, followed by Longmeyer, the white 45 of Dennis Cook, and Jim Hendricks in the yellow 33.

Bill Leighton Jr of Omaha launched his black # 28 NASCAR Late Model from 12th starting spot to claim the 5-1-0-09 make up NASCAR Late Model A. The 12 of Todd Hipnar would take the early lead from Brad Soll’s # 50, but it was Leighton who would use the low line en route to his 2nd NASCAR LM A Feature win in a row. The 51 of York’s Les Seibert moved into 2nd on lap 20, with Seibert holding the runner-up spot at the finish. Matt Buller’s 43 was third, followed by Hipnar, and a surging 1j of Jason Hobscheidt.

Craig Preble of Yutan took off from the outside front row of the start of the 5-17-09 NASCAR LM A Feature, holding on for the win over a determined Mike Wallace, whose white # 1 challenged Preble’s 97D numerous times. Tough times fell upon Brent Baker’s 21x, as it appeared to have something break in the front end, causing Baker to strike the front stretch wall hard on lap 8. As the laps wound down, Preble & Wallace maintained 1st & 2nd, with the battle for 3rd between Leighton and the 2x of Andrew Kosiski going to Leighton. Kosiski spun in turn 1 late in the race, costing him a 4th place finish. Jason Hoscheidt’s 1j would claim that spot, followed by Clint Benson ‘s # 00.

Nebraska City’s Austin Kurtzer got past Pete Fink Jr late in the race to win his second IMCA Sport Compact A feature of 2009 at I-80. One time leader Will McConnell’s # 18 appeared to be on his way to a great finish, but had to settle for a good 6th place finish after a skirmish with the turn 3 wall. Jake McCloud’s #40 was 3rd, followed by Alex Fink’s black # 2 Dodge Neon, and the red #7 of Kennin Colestock.

The never a dull moment NASCAR Pro Ams had their A Feature shortened due to an over abundance of caution flags. The # 8 of Nick Steier took off from his inside pole position, surviving each caution and a pass by the 37of Greg Cooper to notch his first Pro Am victory of 2009. Steier was leading again when what I-80 officials deemed the last yellow came out. Cooper was 2nd, followed by the white 74 of Alan Schmitt, Shawn Bulin’s 36, and veteran Rick Negrete in the familiar # 72.

This Thursday May 21, you will want to make it to I-80 Speedway for the exciting ASCS Sprint Car Races along with NASCAR Late Models and Pro Ams.

And don’t forget Sunday May 24, when you can enjoy the annual Alphabet Soup Late Model Race along with IMCA Modifieds and IMCA Sport Compacts. Plan now to join us and catch all of the action. See you at the races!

Race Results

1) 28 Bill Leighton, Jr.

2) 51 Les Siebert

3) 43 Matt Buller

4) 12 Todd Hipnar

5) 1J Jason Hobscheidt

6) 50 Brad Soll

7) 2X Andrew Kosiski

8) 00 Clint Benson

9) 16 Tom Svoboda

10) 07 Steve Farnsworth