Site hosted by Build your free website today!

3rd Place

Nebraska Raceway Park 05/31/2009

NASCAR Late Models by GM Performance Parts

Jun 01, 2009 - May 31st 7 FEATURES SAW 6 WINNERS at I-80 SPEEDWAY SUNDAY NIGHT by Jim Brennan

(Greenwood, Ne., 05/31/09) There was a lot of action at I-80 Speedway on Sunday night as 7 features were run with 6 different drivers.

The IMCA Sports Compacts started the night with a makeup feature from last week. And that feature saw Justin Soule take the checkers over a fast closing Pete Fink Jr. Fink is the current point leader and started back in the field. With 2 laps left he passed Jamie Spanel for 2nd but ran out of laps trying to reel in Soule.

In the 2nd feature Dave Christensen took the early lead and held it til lap 3 when Austin Kurtzer passed him. Kurtzer held the lead until lap 8 when he hit the front stretch wall and Soule inherited the lead and held on for his 2nd win of the evening. Kennin Colestock finished 2nd.

In the 3rd feature Will McConnell took the early lead with Steven Neiderhaus in 2nd. Neiderhaus was trying to pass McConnell on lap 3, when he lost control out of turn 2 hitting the infield guard rail and flipping his car. Neiderhaus was ok but was done for the night. Jamie Spanel inherited the lead at this point, lost it on lap 7 to Ole Olsen and then regained it with one lap left.

The Pro-am A-Feature saw Scotty Hartman take the lead from the pole position and then wired the field for the win. There was quite a battle for 2nd theu 4th for the rest of the race, with Rick Negrete finally settling into 2nd. But Jeff Joldersma was a man on the move after starting 20th. In the end he won a stirring battle from Negrete to finish 2nd. Negrete finished 3rd ahead of Greg Cooper and Terry Cleveland.

The IMCA Sports Mod feature saw Josh Blumer and Dustin Thayer battling for the early lead. By lap 2 Blumer had the lead which he held thru lap 7 when Robert Tippery took over. Tippery held off Kyle Nordquist for the win with Blumer taking 3rd ahead of Joe Feyen and Denny Berghahn Jr.

The Crate Late Models lost 2 of seven cars at the start of the race as Michael Powell and Steven Saunders got together in turn 1. On the restart Joe Simpson took the early lead and held it til lap 2 when Mike Morton Jr. passed for the lead. From that point on it was all Morton as he outdistanced Tyler Zander, Simpson and Shevi Collins.

The NASCAR Late Models closed out the evening with Brad Soll battling wily veteran Ron Tilley for the lead. The 2 traded the lead until lap 7 when Soll took command and then held off another veteran Les Siebert for the win, his 1st of the year. Billy Leighton came on strong to finish 3rd ahead of Clint Benson and Mike Wallace.

Race Results

1) 50 Brad Soll

2) 28 Bill Leighton, Jr.

3) 15 Andy Wilkinson

4) 51 Lester Siebert

5) 1 Mike Wallace

6) 61 Donald Gimpel

7) 16 Tom Svoboda

8) 57jr Micah Veleba

9) 43 Matt Buller

10) 24h Allen "Al" Humphrey